Cc is for CAFES

DSCF1142

Well, I was going to do CREEKS because we have a lot of CREEKS along the BELLINGER RIVER. I have, however, chosen CAFES. Bellingen is a small town (app 2600 people) but it has maybe 15 CAFES and we have spent very happy times doing the CAFES. Here we go. 250 words on CAFES ON THE BELLINGER.

BELLINGEN is a small town but it surely is a café town. Izzy and I are café people. Usually in the daytime. When the Cheery Redhead was born, we began doing the Bellingen café strip with her and Kati B. I’m going up there in an hour or so and will see whether I can actually count the eateries. We have one main street called Hyde Street and one cross street. Church Street. We wander up and down and sideways and take our luncheon at one or another. Frequently we find ourselves asking the Cheery Redhead where she would like to eat. The Gelato Bar is one of her favourites. My former mother-in-law meets friends once a week and they eat and talk for hours. The young mothers who take their little ones to Tuesday Morning singing bring them back to town for lunch. Sometimes at the Tavern. Sometimes at the Federal Hotel or the Little Red Kitchen. Izzy plays music now and then at No5 Church St. They use local food and even make their own ice cream and potato chips. On the edge of town is Fuller’s Fruit and Vegie Shop and beside it is the Atelier. I don’t like cooking so cafes suit me well. I am thinking of moving into town so that I can eat most of my meals at the eateries. I did that early in my Sydney life along the Bondi beach stretch and I wouldn’t mind doing it again. I like watching people. I like local food prepared well. I like the casual and unexpected encounters. I like cafes.

eating out in bellingen

saff thum
THE LITTLE RED KITCHEN AT THE TOP END OF HYDE STREET BELLINGEN
NOV HPLS GRAFTON TO PORT MACdays 4 021
ANCHOR’S WHARF CAFÉ AND RESTAURANT IN URUNGA. THE WATER RAT RIVER CRUISE BOAT WAS WASHED OUT TO SEA IN THE BIG FLOODS OF 2009 AND DESTROYED.
NOV HPLS GRAFTON TO PORT MACdays 4 041
GURU FOODS IN CHURCH STREET BELLINGEN. A COMMUNITY CAFÉ.
015
THE BOARDWALK CAFÉ IN URUNGA.
064
THE BLACK BEAR CAFÉ WHICH WAS ONCE THE BOILING BILLY CAFÉ. MY GIRL WORKED THERE TILL SHE HAD HER BABY.
DSCF1586
EATING AT THE ATELIER IN BELLINGEN
DSCF0455
LITTLE RED KITCHEN
012
HEARTHFIRE THE SOURDOUGH BAKERY
035

THE LODGE CAFÉ IN HYDE STREET. FOLK MUSIC ON FRIDAYS. CHESS ON SUNDAYS. UKELELES ON SATURDAYS.

176
AT NO 5 CHURCH STREET. A COMMUNITY MEETING SPACE WITH FINE LOCAL FOODS.
031
FEDERAL HOTEL RESTAURANT http://www.federalhotel.com.au/
036
POST CAFÉ AT NORTH BEACH
014
THE GELATO BAR. WINNER OF MANY AWARDS. FOR GELATO.
019
PURPLE CARROT CAFÉ IN HYDE STSREET BELLINGEN
029
NO 5 CHURCH STREET BELLINGEN
032
THE OLD BUTTER FACTORY
http://www.bellingen.com/butterfactory/
130

I did tell you. For a town with only two shopping streets, we have a LOT of CAFES.

Map picture
About nellibell49

LYNNE SANDERS-BRAITHWAITE (BELL) . AN ESTUARINE ELDERWOMAN OF URUNGA IN THE BELLINGEN SHIRE OF NSW AUSTRALIA
Gallery | This entry was posted in C and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cc is for CAFES

  1. definitely a lot of plentiful with cafes in the town, enjoyed the photos

  2. better to go into a café than in a cinema (with a batman movie)

Leave a Reply

