Dd IS FOR DOWLE STREET

014

THE EASTERN CORNER OF DOWLE STREET.

DOWLE STREET BELLINGEN
DOWLE STREET BELLINGEN

THE D YAAN : I was thinking of Darkwood and Deep Water but I have settled on one small street in North Bellingen. DOWLE STREET. I have lived there twice and my third granddaughter was born there. Dowle Street runs kind of parallel with a section of the Bellinger River. The first time I ever knew of it was in the early 1970s when Tony B and I were camping in a wee tent and reading Lord of the Rings and indulging in strange substances. The Cedars Caravan Park was there in those days right beside the tropical island in the middle of the river. It seems to me that it was the first time I ever smelt jasmine. Jasmine growing wild and lush.

Northside Motors are at one end of Dowle Street. Right beside the Showground. Then it stretches along to the POINT. The Point is one of the local swimming holes in the River.  I came back to live in the Caravan Park years later when the children were little and then again in their adolescence. Fruits grow wild and Flying Foxes hang from trees.  Somehow, in the years passing, something has happened to ruin the Island in the middle of the river and reduce the number of wild growing trees. I, myself, suspect that the well-meaning folk did most of the damage but I don’t have proof of that.

BEWARE YOUR WELL MEANING FRIENDS.

My daughter and her young man lived in Dowle Street when the Baby was born. I waited there with them in the middle of 2010’s Summer. The Bats hung from the wires. We all waited and then we brought the Cheery Redhead home.

I like to think that the wee ceramic owl over the road at No 16 knows what has happened 16 years later at No 19.

Now for a hunting through of Dowle Street Images.

IN THE DRIVEWAY OF No 19 DOWLE STREET.

016

BELLYDANCERS IN THE SHOWGROUNDS AT THE END OF DOWLE STREET

DSCF2154

MUDBRICK HOUSE IN DOWLE STREET.

022

TEEPEE IN DOWLE STREET BACKYARD

052

NO 16 DOWLE STREET

DSCF4946

THE BABY COMES TO DOWLE STREET.

DSCF5535

TOILETS AT THE CHURCH IN DOWLE STREET

DSCF6755

HANGING OUT THE WASHING IN DOWLE STREET.

DSCF6749

WALKING ALONG DOWLE STREET.

madgirldowle

WOODCHOP AT THE SHOW AT THE END OF DOWLE STREET

show17

HALLOWEEN ON DOWLE STREET

DSCF7125

A HOUSE IN DOWLE STREET. MUDBRICK AND STAINED GLASS.

112

About nellibell49

LYNNE SANDERS-BRAITHWAITE (BELL) . AN ESTUARINE ELDERWOMAN OF URUNGA IN THE BELLINGEN SHIRE OF NSW AUSTRALIA
Gallery | This entry was posted in D and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dd IS FOR DOWLE STREET

  1. you’ve written a great tribute to your DOWLE STREET!!!
    “DOWLE STREET. I have lived there twice and my third granddaughter was born there. Dowle Street runs kind of parallel with a section of the Bellinger River. The first time I ever knew of it was in the early 1970s when Tony B and I were camping in a wee tent and reading Lord of the Rings and indulging in strange substances. The Cedars Caravan Park was there in those days right beside the tropical island in the middle of the river. It seems to me that it was the first time I ever smelt jasmine. Jasmine growing wild and lush…”

  2. Myra GB says:

    What a great tribute indeed!

  3. I like your sentence:
    “The bats hung from the wires…”
    P.S.:
    you say it’s cold now down yonder in Australia?
    Not easy to imagine for us in Europe now:
    sat in our garden yesterday the whole day long
    – with 31 degree Celsius

Leave a Reply

