J is for JABIRU, JAMMING, JAZZ, JEWFISH, JASMINE AND JACARANDA. AND THEN THERE’S JACK.

THE JABIRU DOWN NEAR THE DAM.

003

THE YAAN : Due to its being J week, I have jumped in early. I was looking about the Valley for something starting with J. I had a singular lack of success. Then the memory of the first Jasmine I ever smelt here came to me. I have written about it before but it still delights me. I was camped beside the river in Bellingen with my Greek Lover, right beside Bat Island. I was reading Lord of the Rings for the first time and then the perfume of the Jasmine growing wild over all the fences reached me at the flap of the tent.  In all the growing up years in the suburbs of Sydney, I had never smelt such lushness or felt such joy.

Its Springtime here now and  the Valley is coming alive. Next month, the JACARANDAS bloom .

Now, that my J switch is turned on –  I ‘m thinking of jewfish and jamming and jazz and jelly beans.

JAMMING AND JAZZ.

HROSE

HEATHER ROSE THE HONKY TONK WOMAN

100

IZZY FOREAL JAMMING IN JAZZ FESTIVAL WEEK.

DSC04110

JAMMING ON CRAZY DAY.

AND THEN THERE’S JACK.

Jack was a racehorse. Now he is a show  pony and he’s a rascal. He likes to come visiting right up on our verandah if he can find a way out of the paddock.  He tore his eye a few months back racing around as he does. He hit a wire fence. The Vet thought he might lose the sight entirely but after surgery he seems to be able to see. If he is separated from the other horses he kicks up a fuss and sulks and becomes increasingly distressed. That’s Jack.

002

kids

GIRLS JUMPING.

I am still struggling to present you with  the “ one tasteful shot “ post but am once again carried away with a multitude of J stories and images in my mind. I won’t apologise for posting too many pictures nor for writing too many words. It’s a verdant and lush valley and my life is an abundant and good life.

On the subject of the letter J , my Mum’s name was JOY BELL. Her Mum was Jessie and her siblings were Jack and Jean.  In our children’s generation we have Jim and Jo and Jai and another Jo.  Good letter, J.

Good word – JOY.

kiss3

About nellibell49

LYNNE SANDERS-BRAITHWAITE (BELL) . AN ESTUARINE ELDERWOMAN OF URUNGA IN THE BELLINGEN SHIRE OF NSW AUSTRALIA
Gallery | This entry was posted in J and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to J is for JABIRU, JAMMING, JAZZ, JEWFISH, JASMINE AND JACARANDA. AND THEN THERE’S JACK.

  1. Pingback: J is for JABIRU, JAMMING, JAZZ, JEWFISH, JASMINE AND JACARANDA. AND THEN THERE’S JACK. | A-Z ARCHIVE : NELLIBELL49 ON THE BELLINGER RIVER IN 2012 « 2012 – ON THE BENCH

  2. Myra GB says:

    I love all the photos here, but that last one is simply priceless. Great stories too, thanks for sharing.

  3. hi Lynne,
    thanks for jazz & jammin’ – and for jack the race horse as well as for Jessie, Jack and Jean. Greetings to your children’s generation: Jim and Jo and Jai – and the other Jo 🙂

Leave a Reply

